Research

Please use the information below to learn more about people involved with the Center for Vision Research at the University of Florida.

 

Sanford L. Boye, M.Sc.
Retinal Gene Therapy Group
E-mail: sboye@ufl.edu
Research Interests:

  • Gene therapy for ocular disease
  • Development of Adeno-associated virus (AAV) vectors for gene delivery to the retina
  • Clinical trials of gene therapy for the treatment of Leber Congenital Amaurosis

 Shannon Boye
Email: shaire@ufl.edu
Research interests:

  • Ocular gene therapy
  • Retinal degenerations
  • Leber congenital amaurosis (LCA)
  • Dual AAV vector technology

Wen-Tao Deng
Research Scientist
Department of Ophthalmology
Email: Wdeng@ufl.edu
Research Interests: Retinal gene therapy

Astra Dinculescu, Ph.D.
Department of Ophthalmology
Email: astra@ufl.edu
Research interests:

  • Ocular gene therapy
  • Retinal degenerations
  • Usher syndrome type III

William W. Hauswirth, Ph.D.
Rybaczki-Bullard Professor of Ophthalmology and Molecular Genetics
College of Medicine
Email: hauswrth@ufl.edu
Research Interests:

  • Delivery and testing of potentially therapeutic genes using AAV viral vectors for Retinitis Pigmentosa, Achromatopsia, Blue Cone Monochromacy, Macular Degeneration, Diabetic Retinopathy, Glaucoma and Optic Neuropathies in natural and transgenic animal models of each human disease

Al Lewin
Email: lewin@ufl.edu
Research Interest: Retina

Ji-jing Pang M. D., Ph. D.
Research Professor
Department of Ophthalmology
Email: jpang@ufl.edu,  jpangoph@hotmail.com

Research Interest:

  •  AAV-mediated gene replacement therapy for mouse models of Leber congenital amaurosis
  •  Retinitis pigmentosa
  •  Achromatopsia
  •  Blue cone monochromacy
  •  Congenital stationary night blindness
  •  Age-related macular degeneration and other retinal degenerative diseases

Gregory Schultz, Ph.D.
UF Research Foundation Professor
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Institute for Wound Research
Email: schultzg@ufl.edu
Webpage: :  http://www.obgyn.ufl.edu/research/
Research Interest:

  • Reduction of scarring by ribozymes, antisense oligonucleotides and siRNAs
  • Molecular regulation of corneal scarring

Sue Semple-Rowland, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Neuroscience
Email: rowland@mbi.ufl.edu
Website: http://neuroscience.ufl.edu/faculty-and-staff-directory/faculty/susan-semple-rowland-ph-d/

Research interests:

  • photoreceptor disease
  • photoreceptor circadian biology

Mark Sherwood, MD
Director
Center for Vision Research
Email: sherwood@ufl.edu
Research interests:

  • Wound healing
  • Glaucoma
  • Occular gene therapy

W. Clay Smith, PhD
Co-Director
Center for Vision Research
Email: wcsmith@ufl.edu
Website: http://www.eye.ufl.edu/research/csmith.php
Research Interests:

  • Phototransduction in rod and cone photoreceptors
  • Biological transport in the cilia of photoreceptors
  • Regulation of protein partitioning in photoreceptors
  • Modulating energy metabolism to treat age-related retinal degenerative diseases